Addiction, Recovery, Spiritual Principles, Twelve Steps

Responsibility – What Does My Life Say About Recovery?

Years ago, a friend of mine from church suggested that I should interview a young man he knew for a sales position I had available. So, trusting my friend’s judgment, I set up a lunch interview at a local restaurant.

I arrived early so I could greet the job candidate, and make him feel at ease. When he walked through the door, he presented well – nice suit, freshly pressed white oxford shirt, conservative tie, and well groomed. We shook hands, and enjoyed some really productive conversation as we enjoyed our meal.

Having already reviewed his resume, I asked him about his impressive employment past. He had held a series of jobs during college, a couple of which were in retail sales. At his most recent job, he had even been promoted to a part-time management role. Impressive for a full-time student.

As he walked me through his work history, one phrase he kept using was “I felt that God had released me from that job, so I left.” It isn’t that I am or was in any way against seeking God’s will where employment is concerned; but the way he kept phrasing it seemed a bit off to me. So, I dug deeper.

I asked him about leaving his most recent position, the one as an Assistant Manager. “How much notice did you give your manager before leaving?” His response was, in my book, a deal-breaker. “Oh, I told you that God released me from that job. I quit at the end of my shift one day.” Following up, I discovered that the same was true for each job listed on his resume.

He went on to explain that in his mind, once God had released him from an obligation, he bore no more responsibility toward it. His words left a sinking feeling in my gut. Given his openness about his faith, I was quite sure that he had no reservations about talking about God on the job. How many people, I wondered, had he left with a negative attitude toward God, and the people who profess to follow Him?

After all, God is not in the business of encouraging people to shirk responsibility. He is certainly not in the business of cosigning unprofessional or rude behavior.

When I first made my coworkers aware of the fact that I am a recovering drug addict, I had just celebrated three years clean. Even with that amount of clean-time, I shared this fact with a good deal of trepidation, knowing that there was a chance that some in the room might not be able to see beyond my past. Yet, I felt that it was the right thing to do.

Fortunately, if anyone in that group holds it against me, I cannot tell. Even those with whom I most feared sharing this part of me responded with compassion and encouragement. One even opened up to me privately about the problems with addiction among his siblings, and how I had given him hope that they might one day find recovery too.

All that to say, I feel an extra sense of responsibility in life because of my past drug use. Though I don’t think anyone holds me more accountable than I do, I still recognize the fact that my actions represent more than just me. For the people who know that I am an addict in recovery, there is a natural concern, and or curiosity, that must be satisfied.

This is because my actions as a recovering addict can and will affect people’s opinions of the entire recovery community.

Let me sat that more loudly for the people in back…

MY ACTIONS AS A RECOVERING ADDICT CAN AND WILL AFFECT PEOPLE’S OPINIONS OF THE ENTIRE RECOVERY COMMUNITY.

At home, I have a responsibility to grow in my recovery along with my wife, Amanda. Likewise, I have a responsibility to Shaun. To show him that an amazing life is possible without the use of drugs. (Children of addicts, so sadly, are at a heightened risk or becoming addicts themselves.)

At work, I have a responsibility to demonstrate to my employer that they can hire a recovering addict, and have an employee who is competent and hard working. One who truly adds value to the organization.

Even among my peers in recovery, I have a responsibility to live in such a way that others are drawn to recovery. This is because one of the Traditions of Twelve Step recovery programs is that we bring in new members through attraction, not promotion. People come into recovery, not because of some flashy ad campaign; but because they see the lives of other addicts being changed. They see that freedom from active addiction is possible when they see us seeking and following God’s will.

Tragically, I hear my fellow recovering addicts excusing away bad behavior all the time, saying “Well, what did you expect? I am an addict after all.” Sorry folks, but that attitude just won’t cut it. My question to such folks is “Why bother?” If recovery is not going to bring about a new way of life, one might as well just keep on using. At least then the fallout from living in self-will won’t be so difficult to endure.

As for the interviewee from that day, he didn’t get the job. In fact, at the end of our meeting, I did my best to challenge him on his practice of leaving jobs without notice. I reminded him that doing so is seen as unprofessional and rude; and explained that he had likely left some people feeling that way toward God and His people.

Lord, help me to take my responsibility as a recovering addict seriously. I pray that when people learn of my past, they will come to see that we do recover.

Have a remarkable day!

Standard

2 thoughts on “Responsibility – What Does My Life Say About Recovery?

  1. Thank you for sharing your experience. I am unclear as to the “why” behind you sharing your recovery status with all of your coworkers. The principle of anonymity is also paired with humility. Trusting god that people will know who need to know. By telling all – you are in a way promoting yourself…that is why you feel such great responsibility to “show” the world you are ok. This is just my opinion based on my knowledge of recovery. Watch out for the ego who wants you to assume responsibility for Gods handiwork ❤️💜💜

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sharing about one’s recovery is definitely a personal decision. In my case, our team at work is very social when we are together, which is only twice a year. While I would join the team for dinners, I would bail out on hanging around for drinks after. I felt it was important to let them know my motive in doing so, so that they would not perceive me as disliking them or being anti-social.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment