Addiction, Recovery, Spiritual Principles, Twelve Steps

Forgiveness, Quantum Physics, and Open Zippers

I listen to a lot of podcasts as I drive around my sales territory. Not too long ago, I was listening to a podcast that took a turn into the world of physics. Specifically, the study of quantum physics. There was talk of entanglement theory, string theory, and concepts of how light and energy work.

My inner nerd was fascinated! Especially interesting was the description of how light can appear in two different forms at the same time. An experiment was described in which light in the form of photons will change its nature when observed. Apparently, in this simple experiment, when photons are measured, they suddenly change into waves instead. I know I am doing the whole crazy theory an injustice in my description, which is why, after recently finishing a novel I had been reading, I began reading a book on quantum physics for beginners. I want to know more about how such things could possibly be true of inanimate objects.

Could it be that they are not as inanimate as we like to think?

The notion of changing while under observation is not at all uncommon in nature. The rabbits in our back yard most definitely change their behavior as they walk past our back porch once they notice I’m there, and watching. Or, on a more personal level, if I find myself walking along and wondering whether or not my pants are zipped, I do my best to check when I think no one is looking. Such things are fairly normal responses to being observed.

When I drew forgiveness as my spiritual principle of the day, my mind turned to that experiment involving the observation of photons. For me, a big part of practicing forgiveness has been learned as a result of having experienced it. The extent to which I have received forgiveness from others is pretty overwhelming; and comes with responsibility. While those who have extended it to me may have no expectations attached to their forgiveness, I feel a responsibility to acknowledge it by a change of behavior. The more forgiveness I have received, the greater my motivation has become to act in a way that is worthy of it.

A big part of the process is simply to be genuine. That is, unlike the photons in that experiment, I cannot change only when people are watching me. I cannot be worthy of forgiveness while someone is watching, only to act in an unworthy manner when no one is there to see me acting out on a character defect. Fortunately, I have discovered that the more forgiveness I receive, the more motivated I have become to be consistent and genuine in the way I conduct myself. I do not depend on the observation of another to experience real change.

So, as I practice forgiveness in my life today, I need to remember the ways in which I have experienced the forgiveness of others. When I forgive, I must avoid the temptation to “keep a close eye” on the person I’ve claimed to forgive. I do not want to inspire that natural tendency to change while under observation. Instead, I want to forgive in the way that I’ve been forgiven. A way that inspires true change. The kind of change that allows a person to be consistent, whether or not someone else is looking.

Have a remarkable day!

Standard

Leave a comment